All five, finished

Florida 1

Florida 2

Georgia

South Carolina

Florida 3

All the portraits are done and were in the hands of the buyer well before Christmas. I received a photo of them framed and hung at the base of her stairway, where they can be viewed daily. The 8×10 with frame was the perfect size for the area and they look great, if I do say so myself.

While very fun to do, each portrait had its own difficulties attached, not the least of which was color. The Floridas 2 and 3 and the South Carolina house were related to me as muddy taupe, but the photos showed mostly a pinkish tone to everything.  And what the heck is taupe anyway?  I should have asked her to go to one of the big box home improvement stores and pick out a paint chip, but, alas, I thought of that too late. Fortunately, my guesses must have been okay because the buyer was pleased.

Florida 1 had a mixture of landscaping and paint combinations that varied in the reference photos, so I had to find out what was apropos for when she lived there.

The Georgia house had lots of flowers (potted and otherwise) and bentwood porch furniture to add.  The house color was to be a brownish yellow, but the flowers were to be the special feature.

All in all, it was the largest commission I have ever done, but it was well worth all of the difficulty and hard work.  When the buyer saw the pictures she cried with pleasure.  It’s one of the reasons I love my work.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dixie
    Dec 29, 2017 @ 13:18:06

    Those look great, Ruth. No wonder the buyer was plesed.

    Reply

  2. Cindy Dauer
    Dec 30, 2017 @ 15:07:48

    Wow, they look amazing! Happy 2018 and I hope to visit all my favorite blogs more this year! 🙂

    Reply

  3. foresterartist
    Jan 04, 2018 @ 19:22:57

    Wow Ruth, these are great! You’ve been a busy girl.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jan 04, 2018 @ 21:43:19

      Thanks, Tim. All totaled, I ended up doing 8 and they all made it for Christmas. Even the ones that I told the clients probably wouldn’t. I was busy from The beginning of November until the week before Christmas. I enjoyed it though and everyone was happy. I hope the fires have calmed down for you. Now it seems the big news is the snow and cold. At least our below zero weather is not accompanied by a lot of snow. Still, it’s been unusually cold for an unusually long time. But I’ll take that over a blizzard any time. LOL

      Reply

      • foresterartist
        Jan 04, 2018 @ 23:01:43

        We’re finally getting some rain, but the fires continued to burn until the rain came. It just wasn’t in the news. We’re a long way from Southern California. We’re way up north so we just got the smoke. Fires, freezes, blizzards, floods, hurricanes, earthquakes you just never know what’s coming next. Probably a volcanic eruption! 🌋

        Reply

Leave a comment