Still life linocut

A ltttle still life

A ltttle still life

Here is the first of my little projects for this busy month.  I had originally purchased a number of mounted and unmounted 5×7 sized linoleum blocks, not knowing which I would prefer.  I ended up liking the mounted ones better but had one piece of the unmounted ones left.  I also intended to use a few of the linocuts on some of my acid free card stock, but when I discovered that the blocks were going to be too big to easily print on the card, I cut this last one in half. John mounted the two 3.5×5 pieces on a piece of board a few weeks ago and I was ready to go.  I didn’t want to get too complicated because the block is small to work on. The idea of a plant on a table with a teapot seemed to fit the bill.  The question ended up being whether I should cut out the flowers and greenery or leave them in relief.  Once I made that choice, I debated quite a long time on how to handle the teapot.  Should I cut out the teapot or the flowers on it?  Ultimately I decided I wanted to paint the teapot a bright color so I would have to cut it out.

A red teapot

A red teapot

I knew right away I wanted to make the teapot red.  I really wanted it to stand out. So far I like it.  Tomorrow I may decide to add a bit of color to the background – my treasured green.  What would you think of that?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    May 23, 2013 @ 17:31:56

    I really like this one, particularly the different textures! I think some green to the background would complete the image beautifully.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      May 23, 2013 @ 17:52:26

      I added the background today. After some thought, I laid a yellow ocher first and then some green, mostly behind the plant. I think the combination of the two colors really perked it up. I’ll post it next time. I was going to take pictures today but just when I decided to go outside for it, the day;s rain started.

      Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    May 23, 2013 @ 19:41:13

    I like your block prints even without the color! 3.5×5, oh my! I rarely work smaller than 12 x 16, so WOW! Good job, Ruth!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      May 23, 2013 @ 22:21:23

      Thanks, Leslie. Most of them I like both ways. The addition of the color is just for fun. I hope the photo of the colors I added show up well enough next time.

      Reply

Leave a comment