Abstract flowers and family obligations

We just got back from a short trip to see a relative for her 86th birthday so I haven’t had a great deal of studio time lately. And with my parents moving closer to us over the next month, art time is still going to be at a premium.  And to top it off, my old Dell laptop decided to aggravate me today.  Although I always have it plugged in, today the internal battery finally died and for some reason it decided that the wall plug-in was inadequate.  No editing program for the pictures so you get to see my unadjusted photos.  I’ll have to figure out something pretty quickly so I can at least crop and reduce the jpeg size to post.  I am quite frustrated right now.

Flowers

Flowers

Today I painted an abstract background on a small watercolor board and after it was dry, I picked out some floral shapes with the nib and the technical pen.  Then I went back and added more watercolors to define them better.  I washed the background with yellow ocher to unify it a bit and put on some dabs of white to brighten the flower centers.  I am not quite sure how I feel about it yet.  I actually painted it rotated 90 deg clockwise, but I liked it better hanging this way.  Tomorrow will tell the tail.

So it seems that I will be concentrating on squeezing in some smaller pieces for the time being and no large, elaborate architecturals.  Maybe studio life will be a bit more organized by the 4th of July.

Okay, so I was able to update the photo.  Here is a better picture.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy D.
    May 20, 2013 @ 11:25:07

    It does sound frustrating, but there is something to be said about being forced to do a particular size or style for a while, and seeing what you come up with! The flowers are so pretty so big! But you’re right, it’s a bit too big for web posting. I hope you get your computer working soon. 🙂

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      May 20, 2013 @ 15:42:51

      Well, of course, when I took my computer in today, it booted right up for the tech. I haven’t tried it in the office yet. I hope it works for me today. (I am typing here on another computer). I am putting off learning a new photo processing program as long as possible. LOL At least I like working in small scale.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

