I think I am done with these

Old me

Old me

I have fiddled around with both of the 2 self portraits for the last 2 weeks and I am ready to quit.  After I let them sit for a few days, I kept seeing things I wanted to change.  I think they are about as good as I am going to get them right now. They are not great but, really, for my first attempts in many years to use acrylics, let alone portraits, I am pretty pleased.

I think the mouth on both of them still needs work, but right now, I can’t see what else to do.  I widened it in both pictures because it just seemed too small for me.  I do have a wide mouth and it seemed pinched in.  I am also getting some gray in my hair but not too much yet (thanks Dad) on the later one.  Hooray for spiral perms too as I really have poker straight hair.

Young me

Young me

I am thinking about heading back for some ink work next.  I have been getting a little itch to get out the pen and draw again.  On a sad note, my 10.5 year old but useful laptop where I edited all of my pictures for publication so easily decided to kick the bucket yesterday.  Dang you Word 13 for not including photo manager anymore for this computer.  It was an easy photo editor for me  to use and now have have to actually figure out Elements.  Yikes, another time suck.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy Dauer
    May 31, 2016 @ 19:04:18

    Really nice portraits! The warm colors are so nice, and hooray for doing some acrylics. Sorry to hear about your computer, so much trouble!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      May 31, 2016 @ 19:36:20

      Thanks, Cindy. It was an interesting experiment and I now know I’m not cut out to be a portrait painter. LOL Sometimes I really need to do something different to freshen my interest. Now I should go back and dig up an ink project.

      Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Jun 06, 2016 @ 11:23:43

    Good job, Ruth! One can never do enough self portraits. They just ad up, over the years to be moments in time that are so fun to back and peruse. I am amazed how, over time, each portrait captures something of the self. Good job!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jun 06, 2016 @ 15:02:22

      Thanks, Leslie. It was an interesting experiment and I’m glad I did it. I never did really feel I was painting myself, though. I wish I had better photos to work from, but I am usually the photographer. LOL Maybe I’ll try one of an older, older me in a couple of years. It has been fun playing with the acrylic paint – so different than watercolors.

      And mouths are HARD!

      Reply

  3. foresterartist
    Jun 28, 2016 @ 18:01:16

    Beautiful! I’ve been thinking about doing another’s self portrait too. I never posted any of the ones I’ve done. It seems so hard to correctly judge what is wrong or right. I guess that’s what the practice is all about. I just never have enough time.

    Reply

Leave a comment