Think pink!

Surprisingly pink entryway

Surprisingly pink entryway

I finally got back to work on this massive looking wooden entryway located in Germany.  I have always like the pink facade combined with the huge wooden doorway.  The last time I looked at it was before the Christmas rush, so now that I’ve caught back up, I thought I’d get back to it.  I didn’t really have much left to do, but I deepened the colors some as well as the shadows.

This exemplifies what I like most about Old World architecture – the use of vibrant, unexpected colors.

We have been having a little bit of wildlife excitement here the last couple of days.  This year’s crop of coyote puppies has made its appearance.  I think they are denning across the lake as the mother hangs out past the far end of the dam just outside of the woods.  The boldest 4 of the 6 puppies (!) have crossed the dam and come to hunt and play in our back yards.  I am surprised the parents let them roam so far away.  It might take them 10 seconds to get over here if there was trouble, but I guess they are not too worried about us after all this time.  I took some pictures, but even with my telephoto lens, they hung down too close to the lakeside for really clear pictures.  If some manage to turn out, I’ll post them.  The last time they appeared in 2013, we saw them every afternoon for about 5 days.  I hope we get to see them at least that often.  These are younger than the 2013 group we saw early that July.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol King
    Jun 09, 2016 @ 16:25:07

    I remember you working on this. It came out great. I love the pink.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jun 09, 2016 @ 17:08:58

      Yes, it has been staring at me, leaned up against the studio wall on the ledge for quite a while. I am waiting for a commission to come through and haven’t wanted to start anything major just yet because it is supposed to be rather large. Keeping my fingers crossed for it.

      I really love the brightly colored buildings in Europe. Who would have thought that a pink facade could look so attractive. Not that I’d put it on my house, though. LOL

      Reply

  2. Cindy Dauer
    Jun 09, 2016 @ 19:59:52

    Very cool door! Love those colors and the detail. Also, coyote pups! I hope you get some nice pics!

    Reply

  3. foresterartist
    Jun 28, 2016 @ 17:55:27

    Another great piece Ruth! I really love your deep dark contrast with the black. It creates excellent depth.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

