Green castle inked

Green castle inked

It took a while, but I finished inking the Greencastle storefronts.  This has a nice mix of brick and stone with wooden accents around the doors and windows.  That detail under the overhang took quite a long time to ink, but it sure adds to the buildings’ character.  So many colors to paint there.  I’m glad that I wasn’t the one who had to  get up under the eaves and do it.  So unique to small towns, don’t you think?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. elissaworkmancreations
    Aug 21, 2017 @ 21:27:29

    Really cool! I love the detail!

    Reply

  2. legacyandlunacy
    Aug 22, 2017 @ 21:22:21

    I know it’s a dumb question, but is this freehand? How do you keep your lines so straight and proportions accurate?

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Aug 24, 2017 @ 09:44:44

      It’s not a dumb question. Art is created so many ways now, it can be hard to know. I work from a photo and lay out the pencil using a drafting ruler to measure distances. After the pencil drawing, I use a technical ink pen to draw. I add more details as I go. Otherwise the pencil would overwhelm me. I erase the pencil and add the colors. Hope that is informative.

      Reply

  3. Megan Mance
    Aug 24, 2017 @ 11:00:06

    Hi Ruth! I love your work! I’d like to invite you to apply to an art show in Indianapolis. Do you have an email where I can send you information about the show and application process?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

