Inking started on the last wedding gift

Slow going

This is harder than I thought it would be.  A couple of days into the inking and here is where I’m at.  Most of the landscaping is done and the outline of the house is delineated.  There sure are a lot of hip roof lines as well as windows and limestone inserts.  And four chimneys and rounded dormers.  It is a rather stately house and I wonder how many rooms it has.  I  wish I could see that entryway, inside and out.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindahalcombfineart
    Mar 26, 2017 @ 07:36:56

    Ruth, how large are these drawings and what paper do you use. I always think like a watercolorist and, as you know, paper is a prime consideration. I just reorganized and sorted through all of my paper to remind myself of what I had so I wouldn’t buy more!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Mar 26, 2017 @ 18:50:41

      Hi, Linda. All 4 of these are 10×8. The purchaser has been doing this for a few years with me and I think this size works best for her. I just use my cold press white Crescent acid free watercolor board (5014?). I like it with my hard pastels and with the watercolors and it is just fine with the inks. It has a medium tooth, I guess, and I find it easy to use. I have never had much success with watercolor paper. It always buckles on me, no matter what I do. The board is very stabile however I use it. And I just have to have it in stock.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

