Finally finished

It's finally done

It’s finally done

After 8 days of work, this one is finally done. For a pen only architectural, this took a lot of time. Way more than usual.   From the pointed arches atop the windows to the spires on top of the railings, it seemed as though everywhere I looked there was some little detail that needed to be addressed.  Still, I am pleased with the way it turned out.  I saved the patterned corner area for last.  I wanted to make sure that its angles looked good with the rest of the details and it was going to be easy to mess that up.  I must have drawn and redrawn them in pencil half a dozen times before I was confident enough to finally use the ink.

The next one up will be easier on my eyes and brain.  It is pretty straight forward as it is an house entryway with lots of landscaping.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. foresterartist
    Feb 25, 2017 @ 22:18:55

    This is stunning Ruth! I’m not surprised it took longer. I always do a lot more inking when it’s only black and white. Without a color palette I have to create the value differences by using more ink. Although, it would have been interesting to see this one in color.

    Reply

  2. lindahalcombfineart
    Mar 04, 2017 @ 08:23:51

    I don’t know how large this is but you have done a remarkable job with the detail. Very, very nice work!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Mar 04, 2017 @ 08:54:02

      Thanks, Linda. So good to hear from you! I’m doing a set of four 10×8 wedding venue drawings for a woman who gives them as a unique gift to the couple. This first one was one of the more complicated of the group.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

