Big bucks

Big bucks

Big bucks

No, not that kind.  The deery kind.  I was looking out the front garden window at the kitchen sink and saw some does go past the driveway in the upper field.  I hadn’t taken any wildlife photos to post recently, so I thought, what the heck and headed down to the studio to get the camera and put on the telephoto lens.  When I glanced out the rear windows, I saw SIX bucks down by the lake, at least three of which had very large antler racks.

Plans changed in a hurry as I decided to photograph them instead.  I haven’t seen any large bucks at all over the last few years and here was a large herd right before my eyes.  This is the best of the 15 photos I took.  Late afternoon light, a telephoto lens and a bunch of moving animals conspired against me, but this one is not too bad.  I think you can see how big these guys are and how huge their racks look.  I sure would like to find some of those antlers when they are shed in the spring.  Wouldn’t you?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dixie
    Jan 08, 2017 @ 18:58:42

    Delightful sight. Afraid the only wildlife we see in our neighbourhood is raccoons – looking to get into someone’s garbage 😉

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jan 08, 2017 @ 21:56:03

      We get the raccoons, too, Dixie, but mostly own the garden as we keep the garage cans in the garage and take them directly to the trash center. These bucks were fun to see.

      Reply

  2. Art-Chap-Enjoin
    Jan 08, 2017 @ 21:48:35

    Wow – you are lucky to live in such proximity to wildlife

    Reply

  3. foresterartist
    Feb 08, 2017 @ 11:38:06

    Great shot Ruth! That’s a pretty nice view.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

