A brick ranch commission

Brick ranch

Brick ranch

Last week I got a nice surprise – a portrait commission from a Virginia realtor.  Fortunately, it didn’t need to have Christmas delivery so I can working at my regular pace and still get myself ready for the imminent holidays.

It is a nice brick ranch house with a variety of roof lines and some pretty window details.  The corners have a single raised brick line every 5 courses or so.  At first I thought it was a square quoin, but on much closer inspection (and an emailed question), it turned out to be just one row at a time.  I’ve not seen that particular brick corner detail before and my eyes kept wanting to make more of it.

The portrait’s coming along so far.  There are quite a few architectural details here for an 8×6 drawing, but that just makes it interesting.

Leave a Reply

