Back to Jasper

Inking Jasper

Inking Jasper

Now that I have finished the last commission, I’m going back to the inking for the Jasper, Indiana storefront.  There is a lot going on in this little streetscape.  The brick has vertical embellishments at the top and the window staging is busy.  On this nice weather day, they have put quite a bit out onto the sidewalk, too.

The building to the left adds its own special qualities.  Its windows shelter under a big canopy and the brickwork is accented nicely with limestone and the raised double squarish pattern.  The facade has a nice little parapet on top to break up a flat roofline.

There is still quite a bit of inking left before I get to the watercoloring.  With blue gray brick, this one won’t be as colorful as the others, but I think its interesting architectural features will make up for it.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aaron Crute
    Nov 14, 2016 @ 20:30:55

    Ruth,
    I have e-mailed you in the past on your drawing of Spring Mill and love your architectural illustration drawings. I am an artist and a self-employed architectural CAD Technician I would like to draw architectural buildings of buildings I find interesting when I am out and about. Was wondering if you can illustrate these buildings as they appear with business names without infringing on Trademarks/copywights of specific businesses? Would it be illegal to draw these buildings as they appear in real life business names and all & sell that artwork? I was not sure who to ask, so I thought you might know or could point me in the right direction, Thanks!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Nov 14, 2016 @ 22:37:31

      I have been told that the public street face face is usable. What I have been warned about is using big business logos, etc, especially beer signs (believe it or not) in bars etc. I don’t make drawings of famous branded buildings so I am somewhat more invisible. I don’t think most small town businesses where I take my photos mind. You can always talk to a business and ask if you want and get a release or consult an attorney for an hour’s legal advise. One thing it true – always use your own photos – other images belong to the photographer. I have been asked to copy some major things and have declined.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

