The inking pretty well done

Mostly inked

Mostly inked

I’ve done as much on the inking as I will do for now.  I’m pretty pleased with the value ranges of all of the trees, but will use the watercolors to set out most of the shadowing.  It has a of a limited color palette, being mostly shades of green and brown, but I will probably throw in some purples for shadowing.  The accent colors are only light yellows, so that doesn’t brighten it up much.  It will take as long as the inking did, I think, to work out a color scheme to unify it but not be boring.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Oct 24, 2016 @ 00:19:19

    Wow! The work that went into this one. I want to stand there amidst all those trees, Ruth! I’m looking forward to seeing this one in color. Sometimes I just like to look at these and imagine my own colors.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Oct 24, 2016 @ 08:08:59

      Thanks, Leslie. I think the photo was taken with a drone! I did work hard on the trees, even more than the actual house. I often wonder what is inside the houses that I do, especially the ones with the pretty entryways.

      Reply

  2. lindahalcombfineart
    Oct 25, 2016 @ 07:22:56

    I am really impressed with the complexity. Your work makes me want to walk through that woods on that mountainside.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Oct 25, 2016 @ 14:55:41

      Thanks, Linda. I do too. The color has been some work though as it is basically only two color variations – greens and browns. I’ve been adding some purples for the shadows and yellows in the trees to liven it up. It will be done soon.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

