Trees, trees and more trees

So many pine trees

So many pine trees

Still working on the landscaping.  There is such a multitude of vegetation that it is taking a bit longer than normal to fill it all in.  I have to keep very aware of the positive/negative balance much more than I would otherwise, so that the house is not overwhelmed and it all gets too dark.  I am pretty pleased with this so far, though.  I will use the watercolors to darken under the house and will probably go in afterwards to fill in the ink where I think it needs it.

And yesterday I got an unexpected note.  Last August I was approached for the possibility of using one of my architectural drawings to be used as cover art for US State Department “English Teaching Forum” journal some time next year.  I sent them four different images to be in competition with I don’t know how many others, and I just received an email informing me that one of them had been chosen.  I was quite happily surprised because I had been told the person selected would be notified by the end of September.  When there was no word, I figured someone else had gotten it.  I don’t mind saying that I am rather pleased.  Sometimes “out of the blue” is a great thing.  I’ll post a picture when I get my copy!!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dixie
    Oct 20, 2016 @ 13:50:19

    Looking good, Ruth.

    Reply

  2. Art-Chap-Enjoin
    Oct 20, 2016 @ 18:10:44

    Congrats on winning the competition

    Reply

  3. foresterartist
    Nov 22, 2016 @ 09:05:29

    Congratulations!

    Reply

  4. ruthsartwork
    Nov 22, 2016 @ 11:25:04

    Thanks, Tim. It is supposed to be on the 2017 spring edition. I’ll post a picture when I get my copy. It is kind of exciting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

