Well, I got my wish

Colorado cabin

Colorado cabin

Well, I got my wish. Just as I was starting the inking for the Jasper, Indiana, streetscape, I got an inquiry for a Christmas home portrait.  A woman is having a portrait done of her parents’ Colorado cabin as a gift.

I had the darnedest time getting the enlargements made for this.  She sent me 2 screen shots which were labeled as jpegs and which I could see in my computer picture files that turned out to have issues when I tried to make some crops for details in photoshop.  It kept telling me that something was wrong with the file and photoshop wouldn’t open it at all.  It was with great trepidation that I took the flash drive into the big box store to make the enlargements, even though they showed up on it and I could open them at home.  Sure enough, their computer/printer couldn’t see the file.  However, I got the bright idea to try the expensive branded photo kiosk instead of the cheaper “house” ones.  And what do you know, there they were.  I showed the department manager my problem and he let me have the good ones, but only pay for the cheaper version.  It was a  big relief that I got anything at all.  I would have paid for the more expensive ones at any rate, because the return trip cost would have outweighed any cash savings.

Anyway, after my short drama, I went ahead and made the pencil drawing and started the sketch.  Inking starts tomorrow.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy Dauer
    Oct 11, 2016 @ 20:38:16

    That is so weird about the files! Hooray for getting it to work and the sketch is looking great!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Oct 11, 2016 @ 21:04:45

      Thanks, Cindy. It was weird. I was so glad I got one machine to work and not have to go back home and wait for her to send me the new files. Big whew for sure. It will be interesting to draw with all of those pine trees. Tomorrows task.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

