It’s been a while

Jasper street

Jasper street

I know it’s been a while, but I think I’m finally back on track with my artwork and blog posting for now.  August and September were filled with family moves and the birth of our first grandchild but now, with the start of October, I’m edging back into the studio and starting to look for the Christmas commissions to begin.

In the meantime, I selected another streetscape from Jasper, Indiana.  This one is not as colorful as the previous ones on the town square.  It is mostly muted blue-gray for the Elements store and plain red bricks on the left, but I liked the eclectic array of wares on the sidewalk and in the windows, along with the spool table and chairs for potential customers.  The upper brickwork around the windows is textured and there is a lot of vertical detail in the rest of the facade siding, so there will be quite a bit of inking involved.

Stay tuned.  The next post will be either the start of inking on this or the pencil up of a new commission.  I promise to be better in October.

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joy
    Oct 02, 2016 @ 15:49:22

    Congratulation on the birth of your first grandchild, it is such an exciting time. We currently have three granddaughters. We just moved to Virginia to be closer to the family. Big changes for all!!

    Reply

  2. Cindy Dauer
    Oct 02, 2016 @ 21:39:12

    Oh nice, it’s been a while since you posted a streetscape!

    Also, you don’t have to be better about posting or anything else. You’re doing great. 😉

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Oct 03, 2016 @ 11:24:12

      Thanks, Cindy, but really miss it when I don’r post. It keeps me working at a somewhat regular pace. I have had this pencil up on my table for quite a while and just never sat down to start the inking. It is almost a relief to begin again.

      Reply

  3. lindahalcombfineart
    Oct 03, 2016 @ 14:50:18

    I always enjoy your blog! It is so nice to see scenes from Indiana.

    Reply

  4. foresterartist
    Oct 17, 2016 @ 19:17:28

    Awesome Ruth, first grandchild! Grandkids are better than kids! You got to prioritize. I’ve missed a ton of blogging lately too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

