Finishing the colors of the commission

All colored

All colored in

I spent about 4 sessions working on the watercolors for this home portrait. I laid out the foliage greens first, then started on the brick and stone because I knew all of those would require the most repeated paint application.  The daffodils’ yellow also took a lot of effort.   It kept fading as it dried so I kept putting more on.  It was a big request of the client to have them included, so they had to be very visible.  The beige siding came in about half way through, due to its paleness.  Not much color there, so not so many layers

Last of all I put in the shadows to add depth.  A lot of work for a little picture, but I think it turned out well.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol King
    Sep 07, 2016 @ 11:20:05

    Beautiful home. I know the clients were very happy with this painting.

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Sep 09, 2016 @ 13:39:10

    You do such beautiful work on house portraits.I like how this home is enhanced by all the trees.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Sep 10, 2016 @ 00:17:36

      Thanks, Leslie. Glad you are back. I do love doing my house portraits, I have an instagram account now and there are so many beautiful houses in the accounts I follow. I wish I could do them all.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

