Matting and framing the boys

Urco, framed

Urco, framed

The mat board I ordered online for the boys’ framing turned out to look just fine. Although I knew I wanted a dark gray and cream with a hint of orange, I was really guessing when I bought the boards because it is hard to tell true colors from the monitor.  And you can’t put it right up to the picture either, so the subtle color combinations (good or bad) you can see in person are lost.   It was disappointing that the mats I picked out at Michael’s couldn’t be purchased so I was kind of forced to try with these that aren’t acid free.  I don’t think my friend will mind.  I did find some nice frames at two for one there so I am pleased with that.

Felix, framed

Felix, framed

These frames came with a double black mat, and if you can believe it, the exact size that I wanted.  How often does that happen with custom art and not just a photo?  Rarely, for me.  So I had to try both mats and make a choice.  Here is one horse in my double mat and the other in the black mat that came with the frames.  It’s funny, but when they were laying on the table I liked them both, but when I hung them up to photograph, I thought the multicolor one looked better and I think I will go with that.  What do you think?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sand Salt Moon
    Aug 10, 2016 @ 09:07:41

    Wonderful ~ so glad it fit and it looks great. What a lovely gift for a friend!

    Reply

  2. Margaret Parker Brown
    Aug 10, 2016 @ 09:38:51

    At first I was intrigued by the black but I took a second look and I feel the top, multicolor one is better.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Aug 10, 2016 @ 16:13:37

      Thanks, Margaret. That’s exactly how I felt. The all black looked great at first, but after a second and third look, I decided to go with the colored double. It was odd how hanging them up also made the choice clearer compared to laying them on my work table.

      Reply

  3. Dixie
    Aug 10, 2016 @ 12:22:40

    Definitely the multi color. I fell it makes the horse portrait stand out more.

    Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Sep 09, 2016 @ 13:42:15

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful! You know I like painting horses and I think you did a wonderful job on these two portraits and your framing is just fine!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Sep 10, 2016 @ 00:19:56

      Thanks. I just gave them to my friend for her birthday and she loved them both. The matting was hard because I had to go online and guess the real colors because the box store wouldn’t just sell me the mat board I wanted, but it did work out okay.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

