Urco finished

All done

All done

I finally finished Urco and decided that I would add the names at the bottom.  Not only does it identify each horse, but it also cuts into that expanse of pine board that I’m iffy about.  I hope she will hang him with her USDF bronze medal and certificate.

I went to Michaels and spent half an hour picking out just the right colors for the double mat.  I figured I could buy a sheet each of the archival mat boards and cut the mats at home.  I have bought board from them before, but this time, because it wasn’t standard stock, they would not order it for me unless they did the framing.  I didn’t want to spend that much since I can do it myself, so I went on line and tried to get the closest thing I could.  Not my first choice, of course. Colors are iffy on-line so I am keeping my fingers crossed that the outer, neutral mat color will work.  Monday I’ll know.

Maybe I’ll post them both framed up next week.  Would you like to see that?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dixie
    Aug 05, 2016 @ 12:47:16

    I like him – but it makes me miss having horses.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Aug 05, 2016 @ 12:53:41

      Me, too, Dixie. I miss my sweet Lady who passed away 4.5 years ago. She was a great mare. I feel fortunate to be able to ride Urco and Felix now. Such great guys.

      Reply

  2. Margaret Parker Brown
    Aug 05, 2016 @ 12:51:05

    nice! really love the squiggly lines for his mane and muzzle hairs…..can’t wait to see it framed. Interesting they wouldn’t cut a mat unless they frame it….what? the fact that you have a mat cutter, now that is something I need to get and do myself.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Aug 05, 2016 @ 13:05:24

      Well, they would cut the mat for me (at $50-60 each), but they would not sell me the mat board so I could do it myself. I really didn’t want to spend $120+ to have it done when I could do it myself for less than $30. It will work out, just a little bit more hassle.

      You should get a mat cutter. I have a Logan 450 and love it. It came with a bevel cutter and a straight cutter. I actually use the straight cutter much more than the mat cutter. It’s handy for cutting my drawing boards to the size I want as well as other studio tasks. Just make sure to get extra blades and don’t be afraid to switch them out often. It keeps the cut edges crisp. I looked around and found one for $120. It has been well worth the money.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

