Only half way

Urco - second session

Urco – second session

As I was looking at Urco in person last Thursday at my riding lesson, I said to myself, yes, the picture needs to be darker, especially in the mane area.  I managed to work some on Urco’s portrait earlier in the week, but it still needs more. I want the black to be more definite and not just look like shadowing on a chestnut horse.  He really is quite dark about the head, just not all black like Felix.  It is a little bit delicate at this point, balancing the bronzy tones with the black.

I have been debating putting their names in the lower right and I think I will.  I’m not really loving the lower board area and I think it will help put the focus back onto the face as well as break up that expanse nicely.  What do you think?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy Dauer
    Aug 01, 2016 @ 17:22:08

    Wow, he is looking quite magnificent! I think the name could be a great touch, but you’ll have to decide where it will go and how big and what kind of lettering. Maybe you could do some on a separate sheet and hold them up before you write on the original. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

