Felix, finished

Felix, finished

Felix, finished

After finishing the home portrait commission, I got back to Felix and completed the final watercoloring.  He now looks more to me like the horse I know.  He is a deep black, which made shadowing difficult, but I managed to keep some highlights and not get him too dark.  I think he has somewhat of a winsome look here and am pleased with his expression.

Next up will be his dark bay stablemate Urco.  I am doing both of my friend’s horses as a surprise birthday gift.  Last month she earned her Bronze medal from the United States Dressage Federation with scores showing on Urco. Now she is going for her Silver Medal with Felix and is half way there.  I’d like to mat and frame them so she can eventually hang the portraits with her two (hopefully) medals together.  It’s a small thank-you for the privilege of riding two exceptional horses.  It’s not very often a rider like me can have the opportunity to ride a horse who has competed at the upper levels of dressage.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy Dauer
    Jul 17, 2016 @ 15:59:59

    Beautiful job with the blacks. He looks great!

    Reply

  2. foresterartist
    Jul 23, 2016 @ 14:31:10

    Beautiful!

    Reply

  3. Sketchuniverse
    Jul 30, 2016 @ 17:12:25

    Oh Ruth, my wife has a cat called Felix, but its appearance is similar than Garfield cartoon. Thanks for sharing your works and congrats for this interesting blog ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

