Don Giovanni – or Felix to his friends

Felix

Felix

This is the first of 2 horse portraits.  A few weeks ago I took some pictures at a Maryal Barnett dressage clinic for my friend and I decided to try horse portraits as a gift for her. She has given me the great privilege of letting me ride her 2 wonderful  horses in a lesson every week and this is one of them.  Meet Felix, a 19 year old, 17 hand black Westphalian gelding.  He has competed in the upper levels of FEI dressage competitions, but he is very tolerant of me bouncing around way up there.  I never thought I could ever sit an extended trot, but he makes it easy.  We really start groovin’ it though at the passage and piaffe work.  He gets wonderfully enthusiastic and seems to enjoy it as much as I do.  It doesn’t get much better than that.

He is my nemesis black for a pet portrait, but we’ll see how it turns out.  If they are nice, I will frame them for my friend as a surprise.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Jun 21, 2016 @ 10:32:15

    I love horses and am looking forward to seeing what you do with these, Ruth!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

