Second painting session

Second sitting

Second sitting

Well, so far it’s not too bad. In fact, it’s going well enough that now I am concerned about “ruining” it.  As typical for me, it is better on the board than it shows up here, with the colors being somewhat softer and better blended.  I need to consider how detailed to get, especially for the eyes and mouth.  The eyes are a little bit off and I have to figure out the teeth, but it is an acceptable start.

I chose a mossy green background and I think it goes well with my brown hair.  Better than the car seatback, don’t you think?  My top was a floral print that kind of matched my skin tone and I think I’ll keep it for now.  The flowers are pastellish so they won’t compete much with the overall painting.

It has sat for a day or two, so now I can see it with fresh eyes.  Still okay, but I need to get my courage up and get on with the painting.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sand Salt Moon
    May 02, 2016 @ 17:34:49

    Ah, fresh eyes – so good to have. Here’s a second pair – looks great!

    Reply

  2. Cindy Dauer
    May 08, 2016 @ 11:45:06

    Looking great! I found after spending so long with inks that acrylics are much easier to correct, so don’t worry too much! Of course, I haven’t managed to do much in acrylics still. I am apparently in my graphite phase. 🙂

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      May 08, 2016 @ 12:08:08

      Thanks. I do like to try different things to not get stale. Sometimes the worst part of it all is choosing what to do. LOL I can get myself motivated by starting into a new direction.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

