Mr. Turtle is back

Mr. Turtle

Mr. Turtle

With all of the warm weather lately, I have been spending some of my mornings in the flowerbeds.  The nice temperatures and intermittent rains have started the morning weeding chores.  I had just finished one of the lower beds to the side of my studio and when I got up, there was Mr. Turtle almost beside me in the grass.  He was trucking right along (for a turtle, anyway) to the beds next to the gazebo.  I had been concerned about him after the sticky paper incident last fall because I hadn’t seen him after we cleaned and then freed him, so this was so wonderful for me to see.

I raced back into the house to get my camera.  By the time I got back he had moved under the edge of the evergreen shrubs where I had been weeding.  Much to his dismay, I plucked him up and set him down a few feet away so I could take his picture.  Shortly thereafter he continued on his journey.  I hope to see him often over the summer.  We’re kind of like pals after all of these years.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dixie
    Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:49:58

    Delighted to hear that Mr. Turtle is alive and well. I wish you both a long, sunny summer this year.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:58:39

      Me, too, Dixie. I really enjoy it when I see him over the summer. He likes to travel a circuit around the house through all of the flower beds, and it is always a pleasure to see him. I think he has become accustomed to me a little as I rarely bother him. I like the way he peers up at me. LOL

      Reply

  2. Carol King
    Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:28:10

    Awww. Love turtles. He’s so sweet.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Apr 27, 2016 @ 12:31:55

      He is, isn’t he. I just looked back at my previous posts and the first time I saw him was in 2011! I mentioned then that he was about the size of my palm. He’s grown some since then. After all of these years he no longer retreats into his shell when i approach, unless I pick him up like i had to do to take his picture and then he comes right back out. I wonder if he recognizes me at all. He sure does like to peer up at me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

