Calf character

Calf portrait

Calf portrait

It has been quite warm this week and I have started to work some outside.  The weeds seem to have started up more than my flowers and I am trying to get a head start, especially on the dandelions.  Show me your yellow flower, and you’re gone! They are easy to spot right now and with the rain we had last week, I can pull most weeds up with the help of my hand trowel.  I have already pulled 2 wheelbarrows full so I’m feeling pretty good about that.  Not too much too soon or my hands will let me know about it.

In the meantime, I have pretty well finished up the watercolor calf.  I’ve deepened his coloring and added more to the background.  Although this is the same calf I did the acrylic head shot of a while back, the tone is a little bit less personal, I think.  Farther away, he doesn’t look quite so curious – more like he is staring hard, deciding if he should stay or run.  I’ll probably list him in my etsy store this week.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol King
    Apr 21, 2016 @ 23:00:20

    your calf is just beautiful. I tried to figure out what to do with all the weeds we have. Some have colorful flowers so they stay. Whatever they are. And the bears have something to munch on when they visit.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Apr 22, 2016 @ 08:58:00

      Thanks, Carol. The only colorful weeds I seem to get are dandelions, and they don’t get to stay. LOL No bears here, fortunately. I want to keep the wild berries for me.

      Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:33:24

    Good job on this calf, Ruth. I like how you layered the colors in.

    Reply

  3. foresterartist
    Jun 28, 2016 @ 18:02:44

    Love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

