Polar bear painting

Polar bear

Polar bear

Moving back to the animal paintings, here is the preliminary acrylic  of a polar bear.  I’ve modified an old zoo photo slightly for the composition, but I’m not quite satisfied yet.  I think I am going to enlarge the ice floe some so it is more substantial under him, even though this is very close to the photo layout.  He looks too big for the ice area.  That is one nice feature of acrylics versus watercolors – larger changes can be made more easily.  That is a good thing for me.  It will be interesting to explore the surface texture of the water, sky and ice, as well as the actual bear itself.

Spring is springing around here.  Temperatures will be in the 60’s for the next week or two.  While I appreciate the warmer weather, I am always concerned that the trees and shrubs will come out too far too early and get seriously burnt by what would be a normally dated frost.  I almost lost my wonderful Japanese maple that way one year.  I saved it but it took several years not to look pitiful.  I look forward to hearing the peepers soon too.  That means spring to me.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carolina
    Mar 09, 2016 @ 15:17:18

    Beautiful Polar Bear painting!:)
    You’re very talented!

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Mar 09, 2016 @ 20:37:52

    I just think you are brave to work in acrylics as well as ink and watercolor. It is fun to watch you create these and read what you say your challenges are, Ruth. I think you are doing great! I’d be all thumbs with acrylics.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Mar 09, 2016 @ 21:18:55

      Thanks, Leslie. I really was inspired by watching the portrait artist contest show. I do like to mix it up some, although the inks may be a relief at some point considering the problems I have had. LOL I got the paint and canvas pretty cheaply so what the heck.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

