Another blech in the works?

Wisteria?

Can you tell it’s wisteria?  I can’t.

I tried a floral painting this time around, but it seems well on the way to another blech rating.  It’s not as bad as the barn painting was, but this one may be destined for the circular file too.  This is the second session for it, but alas, not much improvement has taken place.  It’s not awful, but it’s not very good either.  I am still having trouble with applying the thick bodied acrylic paint.  I have used an extender and a slow drying agent, but I am still feel I am fighting the paint instead of using it.

I am definitely thinking of taking a refresher class for acrylics over the summer.  I feel my problems are more technique related than use of colors or composition and it’s been a looooong time since college.  Not that my college works were any great thing, but I have concentrated most of my efforts in the last 30 years in pen and ink and more recently watercolors and I think I have forgotten a lot in the process.  I think the acrylic animal portraits have been better because the style is looser and less requiring of detail.

I had one last session with the Gizmo pet portrait while doing this and will post the results next time.  I think it turned out okay.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy Dauer
    Mar 06, 2016 @ 15:02:32

    Lots to like about it! The flowers are very pretty, but maybe it’s missing a focal point? It is a bummer not to be satisfied with our efforts, for sure. Taking a class is a great idea! I have signed up for a life drawing class starting the end of March! 😀

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Mar 06, 2016 @ 15:19:25

      Definitely something to think about, Cindy. I will look at it again with that thought in mind. For sure, it is a lot easier to have a focal point with my architecturals, but when looking at that first barn painting, I think technique was the main problem.

      Reply

  2. memadtwo
    Mar 06, 2016 @ 22:29:30

    I really like this one! Let it sit awhile and then look at it again. (K)

    Reply

  3. Zyriacus
    Mar 07, 2016 @ 03:58:43

    I’m missing the leaves to help identifying the plant. At least in the background the characteristic leaves shoul be seen. At first glance I thought of lilac rather than wisteria.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Mar 07, 2016 @ 09:34:34

      I agree, Zyriacus. I think lilacs, too. I am just having so much trouble with getting the details in. It’s somewhat frustrating feeling that I am fighting with the paint texture. definitely, I am going to need a class if I really want to pursue acrylics.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

