gizmo 1

Too bright gizmo

Too bright gizmo

Now that I have finished the 2 commissions I’m back to working with the acrylics. I decided to use some reference photos of my  daughter’s cat.  The animal subjects seem to be going better than the architectural ones right now.  I may have to wait until I take a refresher acrylic class to figure out the problems I have been having with the detail work.

This is the base coat.  Pretty bright, isn’t it.  He is a light ginger tiger cat, almost shading more to the tan side rather than the orange.  I wanted to tone down a base with the lighter colors rather than add darks over a lighter base.  To me, this is a basic difference of watercolors vs acrylics.  It is much harder for me to lighten a dark watercolor than to do the same on an acrylic.  The success of this portrait will be in the eyes.

Leave a Reply

