St. Luke’s finished

St. Luke's Episcopal Church

St. Luke’s Episcopal Church

After a lot of peering closely at photos, I finally finished the inking for St. Luke’s Episcopal in Atlanta.  There was a lot of detail in this relatively small drawing, but I think it turned out well. The large stained glass window is a wonderful focal point.  I cut back the ivy on the fence to give a glimpse of the entryway, but I wanted to keep the little bit of character that it gave to the wrought iron fence.

This is the fourth ink drawing I have done for this particular client and my curiosity finally got the better of me.  I suspected that they all might be wedding gifts portraying the ceremony site, but I had to ask.  And I was right.  She said that when she gave the first one to the bride, she cried.  I am so touched that I am able to help her give a unique memento of a very special occasion.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dixie
    Feb 21, 2016 @ 11:45:12

    Great drawing and a lovely story.

    Reply

  2. decorartuk
    Feb 22, 2016 @ 12:08:57

    This is a very pretty and, of course, thoughtful gift, no wonder it was received so emotionally. Well done – not only beautiful artwork, but also a good opportunity to once again hear that you are a brilliant artist. K.

    Reply

  3. Carol King
    Mar 03, 2016 @ 00:44:13

    Fabulous work. And what a wonderful gift for a bide and groom.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Mar 03, 2016 @ 09:08:21

      thanks, Carol. I think it is a unique gift too. It seems like many couples now have much of what they need before the wedding, so this is something really special. I think she has gotten good responses to them as gifts.

      Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Mar 04, 2016 @ 20:18:48

    Wow! Perfection. Somehow, that lamp post is the finishing touch. Without it, it just would not be as magnificent. Very, very awesome, Ruth!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Mar 05, 2016 @ 01:01:18

      Thanks, Leslie. I found both of the commissions to be very detailed and somewhat time consuming. I bet I took as much time on these black and whites as I would do with a full color one. Not complaining really, just grateful that this client likes my work enough to make the gifts. Honored too.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

