Commission #2

St. Luke's Episcopal

St. Luke’s Episcopal

Today is a good day to be inside. We are expecting to get 3+” of snow today and the storm started about a hour or so ago. Nicer weather after mid-week, but we have to get there.  I can’t wait until spring arrives.  I’m not a cold weather person, even though I grew up in the Chicagoland area.

This drawing is at least as complicated than the last one. There is a great deal of cut stonework along with the brickwork facade, but at least there are no statues or carved fretwork. I am doing smaller sections at a time so as not to get brain cramps again, so it is slow going.  No color on this one either.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dixie
    Feb 14, 2016 @ 14:39:49

    Sure looks like a lot of work. Keep warm until the polar vortex fades away.

    Reply

  2. Carol King
    Feb 14, 2016 @ 22:39:00

    Between the Bok tower and this you must have cramps in your dominant hand!
    Beautiful work so far. I look forward to seeing it completed.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Feb 15, 2016 @ 08:49:12

      Not cramps in my hand, but cramps in my brain, keeping it all straight. LOL I’m working shorter session so I can review the pencil to ink transition carefully.

      Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Feb 19, 2016 @ 15:33:19

    I like these initial drawings as much as I like your finished work, Ruth. I would not mind framing and hanging this as is. My imagination could finish the rest a multitude of ways and it would remain fresh forever.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Feb 19, 2016 @ 15:47:44

      Interesting thought, Leslie. I often like the pencil ups too, but I think the client wanted the inking, too. LOL this one was even harder than Bok Tower. So much detail in the stonework that I didn’t have really great pictures of, but I managed.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

