Bok Tower finished

Bof_f_8390After a little delay, Bok tower is finished.  This was a brain cramping drawing for some reason.  It is considered neo-Gothic/art deco architecture and between the different stone for the facade and all of the carved details, my eyes wanted to cross repeatedly.  Still, doing a little bit at a time keeps the brain more sane.  I did like the combination of the the different types of foliage with the different kinds of stone.  I will look at it again when I have finished the second drawing, but I am letting it rest for now.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zyriacus
    Feb 10, 2016 @ 13:39:48

    Beautifully done. Especially the different kind of foliage looks really nice and enhances the building.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Feb 10, 2016 @ 14:25:46

      Thanks, Zyriacus. I do too. First time for Spanish moss and it would be easier with color. I’ll look at it in a few days and see if I need to work on the black/white balance in the foreground.

      Reply

  2. Carol King
    Feb 14, 2016 @ 22:37:09

    gorgeous work. So many textures in the brick, bark, foliage, etc.

    Reply

  3. laura lecce
    Feb 18, 2016 @ 17:04:02

    Wow, this is so beautiful, I cant ever imagine having the patience to do something so detailed. Absolutely wonderful!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Feb 18, 2016 @ 17:42:20

      Thanks, Laura. I start with the foliage and move inward. This one definitely was more complicated that it would first seem. I work on smaller areas at a time to help keep it simple. St. Luke’s Church was even more complicated but I approached it the same way.

      Reply

  4. lesliepaints
    Feb 19, 2016 @ 15:31:07

    Elegant! Your attention to detail amazes me. If I tried this, it would lean, most likely. Good job, Ruth!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Feb 19, 2016 @ 15:34:50

      That’s what rulers are for, Leslie. LOL I don’t hesitate to use one when I make the pencil drawing, but I find it makes the drawing too stilted with the inking. Freehand makes it a more flowing drawing. It really was one of the more complicated portraits I have done.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

