I think it’s done

Red calf

Red calf

After two more sessions of fiddling around, I think I’m done.  I don’t know if you can see much difference, but I added depth to his coat and changed the background somewhat.  I am much happier with this painting overall than I was with the barn one.  I think I’ll let it sit for a few days, but unlike what often happens after I finish a piece, I actually have liked it better afterwards.

A floral experiment is up next.  I have a photo taken in Atlanta of some purple wisteria which will be fun to experiment with.  I do like working with this 8×10 size right now.  It’s not too big and not too little.  It’s small enough that the detail work is not paramount but not so big that it overwhelms me.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. memadtwo
    Jan 27, 2016 @ 17:27:30

    Great face. N.

    Reply

  2. Zyriacus
    Jan 27, 2016 @ 17:32:51

    Now it’ a cow 🙂 I had thought the background would have been foliage, but ok this way – The main thing is the vivid expression your calf is eying the spectator.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jan 27, 2016 @ 18:06:11

      I liked his expression too, and I hope his nervous curiosity has come through. The background is actually the dirt bank of the creek he was standing next to. It should actually be grayer for the mud, but I think these colors complement him better. Foliage would have complicated the whole thing too much for me. LOL That;s for my next experiment.

      Reply

  3. foresterartist
    Jan 27, 2016 @ 18:33:14

    Excellent cow Ruth!

    Reply

  4. ARTmoses
    Jan 28, 2016 @ 01:38:50

    I love it!

    Reply

  5. Carol King
    Jan 30, 2016 @ 09:08:32

    sweet! beautiful face.

    Reply

  6. lesliepaints
    Feb 19, 2016 @ 15:28:16

    You have been super busy, Ruth. This is so soft and furry. I really like how you applied the color to this. I want to touch him.

    Reply

  7. ruthsartwork
    Feb 19, 2016 @ 15:41:07

    Thanks, Leslie. Being busy is good, especially in the winter when I tend to hole myself up inside. This was fun to do, and so much better than the barn effort. I’m not very good yet on the little detail work yet, so soft and furry works out well. It’s been a long time since I have painted with acrylics.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

