Preliminary color on the calf

cow_pc_8249I laid down the preliminary paint layer for the reddish brown calf a couple of days ago and am somewhat pleased.  I think he shows a little bit of personality even at this stage. The calves are usually very skittish in the pasture and all of the them looked at us quite intently as we took pictures.  I think you can see a little bit of his leery curiosity here.

I’m at that stage of being afraid of “ruining” the work done so far and have been dithering about how to proceed.  Of course, not having worked with acrylics for 25 years doesn’t help either.   The matte medium seems to be helping somewhat in laying down the paint.  I haven’t tried the newest brush, but I am sure it will come in handy.  I just need to take the plunge and do it.

I have also been working on the cast paper ornaments.  They are small, but the painting is slow going to get all five done.  I’ve been posting almost daily on my instagram account and using up a lot of my older photos.  I’d better get down to work and make a lot more.  It’s very cold outside today and continued into the whole week (wind chills below zero), so I should bury myself in the studio, next to my portable heater of course, and get some serious work done.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy Dauer
    Jan 17, 2016 @ 20:14:16

    Take the plunge! Mistakes are not too bad to correct with acrylics. Such a cute face so far!

    Reply

  2. Carol King
    Jan 20, 2016 @ 22:52:20

    Your calf is lovely so far. I can’t wait to see what you do with him and how his personality continues to emerge.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

