Well, Blech is about all I can say about this

More color

More color

This is not going as smoothly as I had hoped or remembered it being.  For a change, the photo actually looks better than the real piece of artwork.  I think the only part that is passable is the foreground.  The stonework is sketchy and I haven’t quite figured out how I want to do the metal roof and the door.  I am having trouble making fine details with the thicker acrylic paints and I definitely need a smaller brush. I should get a thinning medium also.  Although I have a drying retardant already, I think I may need something more.  I will consider taking an acrylic class this spring too, just to help me remember what I need to do.
The best thing about this is that it is an experiment. I am free to try whatever I want and if things don’t go well, I can use the circular file. Nine canvases from the package to go.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy Dauer
    Jan 10, 2016 @ 13:31:46

    I think it’s a great start and you should press on! I agree the foreground is looking really nice! I am in the middle of my own acrylic experiments, and I have both the Retarder and the Acrylic Glazing Liquid from Golden, for thinning. They do seem to make the paint less opaque but I am still figuring it out.

    Good luck! I am finding it rather frustrating at times! A couple things I DO know:
    1. the painting will often look completely dreadful in the early stages. (I don’t know if yours did. This looks past that point! But maybe a bit more working at the building?)
    2. Continued refinement and layers makes a huge difference. The more time spent, makes a huge difference.

    I don’t know if that will be helpful. I hope you’ll share any acrylic tips you find helpful! 🙂

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jan 10, 2016 @ 15:41:34

      Thanks, Cindy. I bought some glazing medium and another brush yesterday. I am inclined to let it sit for a bit and try something else. I have a bunch of cow photos I could pick from to start again and then come back to it in a week. I’m not ready to give up on it yet and I think it is more a matter of technical skill than anything else. Practice on something simpler might help.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

