Painted and off to its new home

Painted strip mall

Painted strip mall drug store

I took about 3 days to finish watercoloring this portrait. I didn’t want to overdo the initial washes and took my time.  I had the hardest time putting on the upper light green under the signs  and keeping it somewhat even.  It is a large expanse and more difficult because of just the one color.  And so much lettering.  Not something I do often, but it is fun to have such a different project.

On to the next.  Or the first of two, to be more exact!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lesliepaints
    Dec 17, 2015 @ 22:46:46

    Oh the color! This is soooooo good! The other thing that really ads to this is that arrow pointing our eye back to the strip mall. I think this is one of my new favorites of yours, Ruth.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Dec 18, 2015 @ 08:23:43

      I liked this one, too, Leslie. And not because it is mostly the colors of my house. LOL That green expanse under the signage was hard, though. The watercolors tended to dry into a hard edge over such a large area. I ended up texturing the color some and it turned up fine.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

