Color, finally

Wooden doorway

Wooden doorway

Color, finally, on the doorway.  I have made a preliminary fixative spray as I was having trouble deciding how rich the dusty rose for the woodwork was going to turn out.  So far, so good, but I definitely think I need to darken and delineate the shadows more.  It’s too flat yet.

We’ve had an up and down fall so far.  First very warm and then quite cold.  The animals have been hiding too, perhaps because some of the hunting seasons have started.  We’ve been hearing gunshots in the woods lately so hiking the south trail may be a bad idea for a while.  I did see flocks of tom turkeys twice this week, so that was nice.  And coyotes have been howling some.  Too bad we didn’t see pups this year.  The flower beds have given up the ghost, although I had one wayward white iris that decided it was okay to rebloom in November.  That didn’t last very long, but it was pretty.

I started an instagram account under ruthsartwork a couple of weeks ago.  Slowly, with the help of my son, I am being dragged into the social media webs.  LOL  It’s been surprisingly fun so far, though.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dixie
    Nov 10, 2015 @ 19:00:25

    I like this one a lot — I so wish I could go through that door!

    Reply

  2. foresterartist
    Nov 10, 2015 @ 19:39:42

    This is superb Ruth. It is inviting me in!

    Reply

  3. Carol King
    Nov 10, 2015 @ 19:53:41

    This is so beautiful. I really like the dusty rose.

    Reply

  4. ARTmoses
    Nov 14, 2015 @ 09:37:46

    Superb work! amazing! beautiful!

    Reply

  5. lesliepaints
    Nov 16, 2015 @ 10:52:38

    I really like the rose color of this doorway scene, Ruth. Your attention to detail is always so cool!
    My daughter lives in the country like you do. They were recently frightened by the scream of a fox.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Nov 19, 2015 @ 08:27:22

      Thanks, Leslie. I think that is what attracted me to the building in the first place. Such an unusual color mixed with the lovely wood. This still needs work, but we had to travel for family last week, so I had to stop. And now I have a Christmas commission to do!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

