Black and white

Entryway inkied

Entryway inkied

The inking of the entryway is more or less completed.  The massive oaken doorway is going to be fun to color.  I have decided to go with the pastels for this one.  The richness of the doorway and the painted trim seem to be calling for more depth of color than I seem to be able to achieve with watercolors.  The vines growing up the side of the building will add natural green effects to soften the stucco and all of that wood.  Maybe I’ll throw in some red and purple too.  Depends on how the dusty rose trim and timber work turn out, I guess.

The brickwork for front walkway has a mild pattern to it and helps ground the drawing.  It is really just a gray color, but I may change that.  Too boring maybe.  Sometimes these decisions are made as I go.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol King
    Nov 01, 2015 @ 21:41:53

    hi Ruth, I love this doorway. Can’t wait to see it in color. Interesting that you will do it in pastels. I just tried using some oil pastels which was fun. Will you use oil or chalk?

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Nov 02, 2015 @ 07:47:25

      Thanks. I try to make a conscious decision for the colors. I use chalk pastels with a gloss fixative. That really “enriches” the colors. My mother gave me a nice set of 80 about 40 years ago and I am still using them, even though I have had to get a few new greens. She likes to hear that that set is still making me money. LOL

      Reply

Leave a Reply

