Flags and bunting

Seaside house

Seaside house

The watercoloring went a lot faster than the layout and inking for this portrait.  The color phase is usually the fastest part, whether I use watercolors or pastels, but especially so this time around.  I am glad there was the added visual interest of the bunting and the flag in the porch area.  Being an all white structure and with minimal roof shown, there is not a great deal of color going on.  The flowers and fabrics added a much needed pop.

I’m caught up with the commissions now.  Hopefully a few of the inquiries I’ve had will turn into purchases.  It’s not too early to start the holiday shopping for made to order items.  This is not something I can produce in a day or two.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixSterling
    Sep 21, 2015 @ 19:39:03

    I really like how that one turned out. Your pops of color are just right. It may be September, but this is so very 4th of July!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Sep 21, 2015 @ 20:06:12

      I was glad for the addition of the fabrics. T I used hey weren’t in the original picture, but she sent me a small one showing the bunting. It really added some needed color, didn’t it.

      Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Sep 25, 2015 @ 17:10:09

    I have not even read what you said, yet. This is my favorite house portrait you have done!!!! Love it!!! Now back to read the post.

    Reply

  3. Carol King
    Oct 05, 2015 @ 21:08:12

    I love the way this house came out. Where is the Atlantic view? From the front or the back?

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Oct 06, 2015 @ 08:26:13

      the view is from the front, so you can’t see it. She did send me a picture, so I could get the atmosphere. They plan to add to the exterior of the house and make it less plain after they move in, so maybe I’ll get another commission.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

