German train tunnel

Train tunnel

Train tunnel

Back to the German train tunnel.  I layered on the watercolors in 2-3 sessions after I added some rockish lines above the entrance.  I don’t know how well that worked out but I had to have some base for the brown/gray of the stone.  I think I need to work on indicating depth more with this technique.  I don’t want to overdo the watercolors so that the elegant writer pen washes disappear.  There is more to this than meets the eye.  I’m not unhappy with this, but I think it could be better.

 

I received another small commission over the holiday weekend.  Maybe the holiday purchasing has begun.  It is nice not to be rushed.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. said-simply
    Sep 08, 2015 @ 10:36:13

    What a lovely piece Ruth!

    Reply

  2. Zyriacus
    Sep 08, 2015 @ 12:23:23

    How nice this picture looks! The slightly different colours make it very lively. I wouldn’t change anything.

    Reply

  3. Carol King
    Sep 17, 2015 @ 23:34:56

    This came out fantastic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

