Colorado cabin colored

Colorado cabin colored

Colorado cabin colored

Well, after about 4 sessions on this small picture, I finally have the watercolors done.  It is easy to overdo a small piece, so I took my time.  After the initial washes, I spent several days adding more layers a little at a time.  It was not easy, but I am fairly happy with how it has turned out.

I added magenta to the shadowing to increase the color palette.  That orangy siding was really hard to work with and I needed to add some other color besides the ubiquitous greens.  Because of the risk of forest fires, I am sure, there was no close landscaping per se.  I managed to put in some small scrub trees and yellow flowers in the meadow surrounding the house.  That helped soften the hard lines of the house.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dix
    Sep 02, 2015 @ 10:47:13

    I’m sure they will be pleased – it makes the cabin look very inviting.

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Sep 05, 2015 @ 13:43:16

    Ha! I loved what you said about snow. Maybe when you have nothing else to do, you could revisit this image and create a winter scene with it. You did great!

    Reply

  3. Carol King
    Sep 07, 2015 @ 02:30:31

    I really like the wood of the cabin against the greenery and trees.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

