Colorado Commission

Colorado cabin

Colorado cabin

This little commission came out of nowhere. Usually there is a bit of back and forth between me and the client before purchase, but last Saturday, when I came home late from helping a friend at a horse show, there the order was.   I contacted her about what I needed and she sent me three shots of this mountain cabin. We decided a summer view was best since that was when the gift recipients spent most of their time there.  Thank heavens, because I really prefer not to do snow.

This little house with its log siding fits nicely into an open glade surrounded by pines.  The whole structure and landscaping is on the simple side so I will have to work hard with the watercolors to make it interesting.  I am sure it is quite charming when you are there, but I have to make it look special, just from the photos.  The flowers and shrubs often help there and all I have are 2 winter snow scenes and one spring one.

In some ways, the small 6×8 and the large 16×20 are harder than the middle sizes.  I have to be careful the small size so it is not just a jumble of ink with too much detail and the large one is just plain a lot of inking.

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dix
    Aug 30, 2015 @ 16:28:39

    It looks quite charming. I look forward to seeing it progress.

    Reply

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday)
    Aug 31, 2015 @ 08:50:43

    Looking forward to more. This is quite lovely!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

