Washes for Germany 5

With the wash

With the wash

I am really enjoying putting the water washes on these elegant writer pen drawings. I find I like the multi color effect that is still surprising to me with its blues and pinks.  I can be a little predictive with the amount of water I use, but it is still somewhat mysterious.

I haven’t quite figured out how I want to do the area above the stone structure.  Right now it looks as if the upper foliage is just overhanging trees, but it is really a rocky hillside entrance for the railway.  Maybe I have to draw in some of the rock wall first.  I may have to experiment on another piece of board first.

I got a small watercolor house commission over the weekend, so there will be a slight pause in Germany 5.  It was quite a surprise as most people contact me before they purchase a portrait listing, but there it was on Saturday evening.  It is of a kit log home in Colorado and she sent me both summer and winter photos.  I don’t know which season she wants so I’ll ave to wait for her reply before I get started.  It’s only for a 5×7 so it will be quick to do.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charlie O'Shields (doodlewash)
    Aug 25, 2015 @ 20:25:24

    This looks awesome! Love it! And congrats on the commission! 😃

    Reply

  2. Cindy Dauer
    Aug 26, 2015 @ 18:54:33

    Looks really neat! Love the purple and teal. Hooray for the new commission!

    Reply

  3. lesliepaints
    Sep 05, 2015 @ 13:40:31

    I love the composition in this one, Ruth. I have found the same thing to be true with this pen. I sit and stare for several days at the wash that is created with all the subtle color in it. I still think these make great ink washes and many of them could stand on their own. This is beautiful. Congratulations on the commission!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Sep 05, 2015 @ 17:48:33

      Thanks, Leslie. I do think they could stand on their own, but I haven’t been able to resist the impulse to add color yet. I’ve finished the watercolor add on and will post it soon.

      Reply

  4. Carol King
    Sep 07, 2015 @ 02:31:59

    I really love how you use the elegant writer to do washes in these paintings.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

