Linocuts again, briefly

I decided to take a short break from the speedball pen architecturals to refresh my eyes. I find if I work on the same kind of art piece repeatedly, at some point I start to feel stale and uninspired. These little projects help prevent that and give me variety in my etsy store.

Choose kindness

Choose kindness

Recently I read a young adult’s book named “Wonder” for my book group and there was brief use of the phrase “choose kindness” in it.  It struck me as a good way to live life in general.  I have never done a linocut using words before and thought this might be the one.  It actually took a lot more effort on my part to create this than I anticipated.  Originally, I sketched out the words horizontally.  I played and played around with the background and nothing was happening for me.  Then I went into the bathroom off of my studio to wash my hands (dark chocolate isn’t enough inspiration you say?), and looked at the shower curtain. It had vertical flowers on it and it suddenly occurred to me that the orientation was wrong.  It needed to be a vertical piece, not a horizontal one.  Sure enough, after I resized the words using the computer copy feature, I was quickly able to finish a design.   Funny how long it took me to realize what I needed to do.  I definitely don’t have the skills of a graphic artist who probably could have decided a lot faster what to do.  In any case, I’m happy with the results, and it’s off to list it.

I have two more Germany photos I can use for the speedball art, so that’s probably what is up next.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dix
    Aug 15, 2015 @ 12:27:40

    That looks great.

    Reply

  2. Carol King
    Aug 24, 2015 @ 15:48:36

    I like your linocut. Sounds like fun. I know what you mean about doing the same sort of art for a long time. It’s good to take a break and then come back to it.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Aug 24, 2015 @ 17:56:54

      Thanks. This turned out to be a lot more thinking than I expected it to be. It was different cutting the phrase backwards. I made the design on a sheet of copy paper and then flipped it to the backside. I could see the printing when I put it on another sheet of white paper, so I used a fine point marker to redraw it. Voila – backwards writing.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

