I decided to go bold…

Yellow stucco

Yellow stucco

…but not overboard. I hemmed and hawed with myself on whether to go yellow or coral. In the end, the yellow won. I started out with a more intense hue, but it seemed too garish for the picture.  The vividness overpowered the softer wash colors, so I toned it down with yellow ocher, making it closer to a gold but still quite bright.  It is a bit more yellow than this, but I just don’t seem to have that photoshop touch to show it more exactly.  I placed a spot of red in it with the chimney top.  The flue was grey in the photo, but I have the feeling it was a later addition, so I didn’t feel bad taking some artistic license with it too.

In addtion, I straightened up the entryway.  The right side had a bit of a lean which started to bother me.

A couple of days later I still like it.  Perhaps the next one will be red.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. periwinkleblur
    Aug 09, 2015 @ 11:18:16

    Good choice of yellows. It works well. Also love the roof detail.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Aug 09, 2015 @ 13:42:23

      Thanks, I like it,too. The yellow was a good color choice here. I’m still experimenting a lot, so it is nice if what you accomplish is not too far from the intent. I still want to try the reds though.

      Reply

  2. Dix
    Aug 09, 2015 @ 15:11:29

    Charming.

    Reply

  3. memadtwo
    Aug 09, 2015 @ 22:01:17

    The yellow gives the building a lot of personality. Good choice.

    Reply

  4. Cindy Dauer
    Aug 12, 2015 @ 17:53:15

    I like the yellow as well. Very cool new style for you!

    Reply

  5. Carol King
    Aug 12, 2015 @ 20:37:13

    I like the yellow. It works really well. Love the sky too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

