German castle walk

Castle walk

Castle walk

I am not quite sure where this photo came from, but I think it was taken on one of the castle tours we took during our trip to Germany in 2000. The view looks as if it is from high up overlooking the countryside, just as a castle would.  I wish I had more context for this series, but I didn’t identify the photos very well at the time.  I know the towns we visited and some of the castle names but not really what goes where for many of them.  Not very good journalistically, I suppose.  We were just enjoying ourselves and I didn’t give it a lot of thought.

Castle with water wash

Castle with water wash

The entryway area is stucco and the rest is layered rock, with a stone wall in the front left.  I didn’t use as much in the initial wash as the others.  I did 3 separate light oversprays to perhaps lessen the extra ink bleed when I watercolor.  Maybe I should be bold and color the stucco vibrantly.  I don’t know what color it might have been.  It is off white in the picture. Yes, in some way, I think I’ll go brighter with this one.  Shake things up a bit.  Either coral or yellow.  What do you think?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday)
    Aug 05, 2015 @ 10:36:13

    Ooh yellow. Or gold! Beautiful! Is your pen one that slightly bleeds when you add color? I like the look of that. 💛

    Reply

  2. memadtwo
    Aug 05, 2015 @ 10:47:56

    A shock of color would be nice I think. Not sure which to choose, though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

