Watercolor of the German entryway

Watercolored building

Watercolored building

I decided to watercolor this Germany entryway in the same vein as my first one.  I have come to the conclusion that less is more with these drawings and it is so easy to overdo the work. In some ways, it takes as long as a more detailed picture because there is the same down time needed to make these as in the regular pen and inks.  The work itself may go faster but I really want to be careful about how much I add in terms of the wash and subsequent watercoloring.  I still learning the subtleties of the speedball pen.

For this one, I wanted to keep the focus on the doorway and upper overhang, so I concentrated the added watercolor in that area. I let it fade somewhat as I got closer to the edges.  I am pleased with how the skies are turning out.  They always hold a bit of angst for me, but prewashing the area with water and then dropping in the wet ink seems to be doing the trick.  I like the way the blues and pinks separate out somewhat randomly, but are a unifying color with the rest of the picture.

I tried a light water overspray after I finished the initial wash phase this time around.  I decided that a little bit of ink movement on the architectural from the sprayer was acceptable and it does reduce the extra flow when I add the watercolors.  I have yet to accomplish complete fixing before I paint, but I’m not overly concerned about it.  It adds some character to the overall drawing in my eyes.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dix
    Aug 02, 2015 @ 16:54:18

    It is really charming.

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Aug 05, 2015 @ 01:36:58

    Excellent job with this!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Aug 05, 2015 @ 08:45:45

      Thanks. I am wondering now if I need to use more color when I paint. Maybe for the next one.

      Reply

      • lesliepaints
        Aug 05, 2015 @ 10:47:09

        I have been using more color, as you have seen. When I add the color, I do lose the ink wash look. However, it is still a different look than just painting a watercolor. I like it very much. I also like this look and am sure I will leave some of my creations as an ink and wash as I collect a body of work.

        Reply

  3. Lifesastitch
    Aug 12, 2015 @ 10:55:24

    Question – what ink are you using to drop into the sky? I like the style you are using and plan on something similar while sketching across Spain.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Aug 12, 2015 @ 14:55:59

      I still use the Speedball pen for it. I make several lines with the pen on another piece of board. I prewet the sky area pretty well and then wash a brushful of water onto the pen lines. I pick up the wash and dab it on over on the picture, just like I would if I had used watercolors. You have to work fairly quickly and decisively as there are no do-overs with this ink and it dries quickly. To some extent, once it’s there, it’s there. You might practice on a blank paper first if you have any question about how it flows, but I just did it the first time around and it seemed to work out fine.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

