Dino lino for my 400th post

Raptor dinosaur

Raptor dinosaur

I’ve been fiddling around with the German streetscape the last few days, and decided I needed a slight diversion.  I had taken some pictures a few years ago at a outdoor dinosaur display park off of Interstate 65 in Kentucky. There is a large tyrannosaurus rex standing by the highway as advertisement (it is in the park) and I had always wanted to visit and maybe take some reference photos.  We stopped one day on a trip to Atlanta and had a very nice outdoor walk among life size dinosaurs with John’s camera clicking away.  I rather enjoyed myself and it was well worth the admission price.  There was also a small store where you could buy real and synthetic geologic souvenirs which were actually interesting, too.

Khaki dino linocut

Khaki dino linocut

Unfortunately, we had trouble with his camera and it wasn’t until recently that I finally managed to get the pictures downloaded.  I have been intending to do a more boy themed linocut for some time and this seemed to fit the bill.  I made the standard black one but wanted to maybe do a colored one, too.  I slapped red, yellow, and green on the glass and rolled them together, hoping to get something more multicolored.  It ended up as a slightly khaki color and more uniform than I wanted, but is not bad.  One more thing to play with.

German streetscap

German streetscap

I think I have finished the German streetscape and am ready to list it.  I added more depth to the lower areas and street and more green to the background trees.  I do have to play more with developing a foliage technique so maybe the next thing is to just make some circular file art to throw water on in various ways.and see what happens.  I don’t usually post the final redo since I’ve posted about it so much before, but this actually looks somewhat different and I thought you might like to see how I altered it.

I can’t believe this is my 400th post.  Thanks to all of you for supporting me in this artistic life journey.

 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dix
    Jul 22, 2015 @ 19:08:31

    The dino is a great idea. Love

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Jul 24, 2015 @ 12:45:26

    I love your linocut ! It looks alive instead of from a reference of a statue. Maybe it is how you cut out that background like a burst of light that gave this guy some movement and energy.
    I like the finished German streetscape. Good job, Ruth.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jul 24, 2015 @ 16:24:37

      Thanks, Leslie. This came from an indoor closeup of a small figure and was the best of the lot. Next time I’ll take my big camera, but I didn’t want to lug it outside in the heat and humidity at the time. Now that you mention it, he does look on the vigorous side. I worked hard on the background and foliage to keep it grounded, but not too black, so I appreciate that you like it.

      I’m pretty pleased with the streetscape, too. I do think I need to experiment more with the foliage aspect, though.

      Reply

  3. Cindy Dauer
    Jul 24, 2015 @ 17:09:04

    Very cool dino! The title of his head is just right! The streetscape looks terrific!

    Reply

  4. Carol King
    Jul 27, 2015 @ 11:32:40

    congratulations on your 400th post! Your dino lino is very cool. I really like your German landscape completed.

    Reply

  5. foresterartist
    Jul 27, 2015 @ 19:28:43

    400th, holy smoke Ruth, that’s great! I love the raptor and the street scape.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

