Second Germany Streetscape

German streetscape

German streetscape

It’s been a busy July. I had picked out the next experiment drawing for the Speedball pen last week, but with the holiday weekend activities, I didn’t get around to drawing it until Tuesday.  These buildings have complicated exteriors so it took some time to pencil it out and then delineate with the pen. Once again, I decided to go with a more flowing, less structured drawing.  I think this style lends itself well to the Speedball pen characteristics.  It will sit until tomorrow so I can look at it with fresh eyes before I add the water to it.

Also using up studio time this week is a very different kind of commission. Remember the dragon block print that I cut up to make a set of 4 bookmarks? Well, I had someone want me to make up 7 more sets for her.  She is giving a talk on Chinese culture in the fall and wants to hand out the bookmarks to the participants.  What fun for everyone.  I made up the prints yesterday and today I will start the added watercolor.  It will take a couple of days to finish the painting, cut them and then get the lamination done.  It’s a busy week, which is good because with all of our rain, I can’t get out to weed.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DixCutler
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 15:13:53

    Love the streetscape. Great news about the dragons. SO wish we had some of your rain – BC is full of forest fires.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jul 08, 2015 @ 17:36:22

      Thanks, Dix. We have been getting too much rain. We set a record for rain in June and I think we have had a couple of inches already in July. The tomato plants would like the sun to come out for a bit. lOL Maybe later in the week.

      Reply

  2. Cindy Dauer
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 19:00:12

    I love complicated exteriors! I love all the different kinds of European streetscapes, particularly where so many things are packed in so closely together. Looks great!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jul 09, 2015 @ 08:30:28

      You would love seeing these in person. It is almost overwhelming. I have never seen anything like it here. The closest I can come are some of the old small towns. Maybe that is why I like them so much.

      Reply

  3. ruthsartwork
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 19:32:41

    Me, too! I wish I had taken more pictures in the few days we were there. At least with these drawings I don’t have to be totally accurate which allows for a lot more freedom of expression

    Reply

  4. mysiteexists
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 20:45:34

    I just love it! Complicated but beautiful, gorgeous!

    Reply

  5. Carol King
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 22:42:17

    Looking forward to seeing the next steps of this drawing. This is a complicated drawing. You have a lot of patience! And congratulations on your commission!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

