How about this?

Preliminary drawing

Preliminary drawing

I wanted to try another drawing with the Speedball pen and I thought that a runner drawing might be interesting.  Justin sent me a photo of him running out of a construction tunnel at the Hoover dam and I decided to try it.  The dark cave view into the light would seem to lend itself to this technique.

Into the light

Into the light

I am somewhat pleased with it.  I have noticed that the more water you add, the more of the pink effect that is shown.  I added some green to the tunnel opening to hint at what was beyond and I put in additional watercolor black where the walls meet the floor.  I may tone down the pinky sides with more black.  It is an interesting first effort but I am not sure it is quite what I want.  I think I will continue to play around with it.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mysiteexists
    Jul 02, 2015 @ 21:06:27

    Nothing, but simply amazing!

    Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Jul 05, 2015 @ 12:20:14

    I like the pink sides to this. I think this technique might ask for us to stretch ourselves. I like this coming into the light piece.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jul 05, 2015 @ 16:33:20

      That is the way I looked at this project. It was more of a practice drawing to see what might happen with a lot of ink than the thought my son might use it for his book. Frankly, I think the reference photo would be a great book cover by itself. No need for artistic interpretation.

      Reply

  3. Carol King
    Jul 08, 2015 @ 22:40:23

    Hi Ruth, I really like the dark lines of the tunnel and the light coming through with the runner. I’ve noticed that when I wet the ink and then lift it with paper that’s when it turns pink. I’m not sure and will have to try it again.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jul 09, 2015 @ 08:25:46

      Thanks, Carol. I think I might have convinced him that the photo might be the best for his book cover. It is so evocative. I don’t think I could match it, but this works well as practice. I didn’t blot anything, just kind of slopped on the water to see what happened.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

