Oh, deer!

New fawn

New fawn

I went to my kitchen sink this evening with supper dishes in hand and in a sweet surprise, I saw a very young fawn walking through the front flower beds. It was dwarfed by the cone flowers, black eyed Susan’s, and even the bird bath as it meandered through the flowers, checking everything carefully before skittering out.

Mom and baby

Mom and baby

Fortunately, I had heard this morning that a doe was wandering around with a new baby and I had brought up my camera with the telephoto lens already attached. I ran to the living room to get it and when I got back, the fawn had rejoined its mother.  It skipped about the yard, more I think from the gnats and flies circling it than from playfulness or fear.  I could see quite the swarm flying around both of them.  Mom finally edged her baby back into the woods and I went back to the dishes.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brenda
    Jun 16, 2015 @ 13:48:51

    I love how you captured the motion, his ears flapping in the breeze and the legs leaping – great picture!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jun 17, 2015 @ 08:26:14

      He wasn’t a happy camper, Brenda. The gnats and deer flies were buzzing them both. If you look carefully at the doe’s flank, you can see dozens of deer flies. This year, the walk to the mailbox has been nasty with all of the flies that chase us. Way more than in the past.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

