Purple Jasper

Purple Jasper

Purple Jasper

What a lively central square this Indiana small town has.  I have loved doing these three streetscapes.  The unusual color combinations have been fun.  The stores in this one have to peek out from behind the tree and the planter, but you can still see the purple quite nicely.  I don’t know about you, but I think lilac is a great color choice for an ice cream store.

The upper area has some decorative brick and stone work to create uniqueness in the masonry facade.  All in all, I’d like to compliment the architects who designed this set of buildings.  This town square is one of the reasons I love architectural drawing.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. createarteveryday
    Jun 08, 2015 @ 20:34:15

    Ruth, I love everything you post. I’ve tried a couple of buildings now, and I’m wondering if you ever use a straightedge, or any tools? I find it v difficult without any.

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jun 08, 2015 @ 22:03:10

      Thanks. I used a ruler many years ago for the inking, but I found it stilted my drawing. I do use a straight edge to lay out with pencil, but I feel that just working with the pencil lines as I ink is enough. Don’t be afraid to try it out for several drawings. I think you’ll find it rapidly becomes easier. I was much happier with my drawings when I made the switch – after some practice.

      Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jun 08, 2015 @ 22:10:25

      I also use a large drafting table which has a rolling straight edge attachment. I taught myself perspective drawing many years ago (from a book) so I could work with builders’ architectural blueprints for their publicity work. Now that is mainly done with 3d cad so I concentrate on the home portraits.

      Reply

  2. lesliepaints
    Jun 10, 2015 @ 00:46:37

    Very neat composition, Ruth. What impresses me, in this is that little blue decal to the front window and the left of the door that brings my eye right down and invites me to enter this store. The tree out front holds my eye in and also effectively invites me in. Very cool!

    Reply

    • ruthsartwork
      Jun 10, 2015 @ 08:52:28

      thanks, Leslie. I didn’t really think, but about the color on the window displays, but it does relieve the darkness of the windows. Of the three, this is the least for me. Compositionally I think i should have moved the tree to slightly off of the page.

      Reply

  3. Cindy Dauer
    Jun 10, 2015 @ 21:31:41

    Looks great! I see what you mean about the tree but it’s a terrific tree! Hooray lilac!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

